Letting Go

Photo by  Hellebardius @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0094009/photos/libaer2002/542897396/ licensed under Creative Commons

Photo by Hellebardius @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0094009/photos/libaer2002/542897396/ licensed under Creative Commons

Letting go of someone seems like you’re living in an empty house. However, the emptiness either exists in your heart or your head or both. No one is there anymore. You’ve lost an important “something” in your life. Sometimes, it’s easier to feel angry than sad. I have a lot of friends that go with anger and then become bitter. I have always felt bad for this group of people because they don’t seem to go on with their lives. They live in the past and long for the person that left.

Photo by Alain Bachellier @  https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0098009/photos/alainbachellier/7469217244/ licensed under Creative Commons

Photo by Alain Bachellier @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0098009/photos/alainbachellier/7469217244/ licensed under Creative Commons

The other way of letting go of someone is to look at what’s ahead and move forward through the sadness. Eventually it will go away and in the meantime you can achieve your goals and work through your “stuff” in a healthy way. Speaking for myself, this is what I do when I need to let go of unhealthy people. I’m not saying it’s easy. Letting go of someone is always difficult, especially if the heart is involved. I’m only using two examples, I’m sure there are many more. Everyone has let go of someone in their lives. How did you do it and how did it feel?

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Letting Go

  1. Just Patty says:

    Great blog Cynthia!
    I really suck at letting go of people myself. Something I certainly have to learn because the longer you keep those people close, the more energy they take from you.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Lots of love ♥

    • Cynthia says:

      Oh, that’s a great point. Keeping those people around you sucks the energy from you. I love that because it’s true. I try to wish that person only good things and then let them go but sometimes it’s so difficult…Thanks for reading and the comment and the like! 😀

  2. David says:

    I always enjoy reading your blogs Cynthia.
    Letting go of “people, places, or things has become easier for me. For my recovery, preservation and peace of mind…”if it’s poison, it’s gotta go”. There are, however, things, places and people that have to stay, and if there is a problem, I try to resolve it b4 the end of the day….I enjoy my sleep to much to have to share space in my head with someone or something that is trying to keep me up. thanx for sharing 🙂

    • Cynthia says:

      David, I’m in recovery as well and as you well know I can have difficulty with trying to control people, places and things. I’m glad you have an easier time, I’m starting to so I thought this was a good time to post this. Plus, I just had to let go of a toxic relationship with someone I’ve know since I was 9 years old. Very hard. Thanks for reading and commenting. You rock!

  3. praw27 says:

    I find it to be a grieving process, and grief is an ugly monster who appears when you least expect it. All the emotions are there and I find when I just let them happen, the process goes much better. It’s that first “Time to move on” that really kicks me in the gut!

    • Cynthia says:

      I SO have to agree with you. Even if you have to let go of a friend you’ve had for a short time, it can be hard if you’ve spent a lot of time together. Or if they move away. Any loss is a grieving process and YES! you just have to experience those emotions and move on when it’s time to move on. That first month or year with more intimate relationships is the kick in the gut. Thanks for sharing and reading!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Sometimes I wish I could go on with anger, instead of making excuses and looking for the best in another person. Certainly, that can’t be too healthy either?

Leave a Reply

