Knee Replacement and Physical Therapy

Photo by  gnuckx @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0098009/photos/gnuckx/11640401205/ licensed by Creative Commons

Photo by gnuckx @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0098009/photos/gnuckx/11640401205/ licensed by Creative Commons

My partial knee replacement is about three weeks old. My scar requires some odd, brand new technology in order to smooth it out and make it heal better. It’s a silicone based transparent sticky strip that spends days over my incision line. I can even shower with it on.  I’m now out of the pain I was in prior to the surgery. I still have a little surgery pain but nothing like it was before they put in the replacement. Yeah for me! The surgery took all of 45 minutes and I woke up hungry so they allowed me to eat a sandwich.  I’ve also taken steps to go to physical therapy.

picture by gnuckx @  https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0091009/photos/gnuckx/11641068154/ licensed by Creative Commons

picture by gnuckx @ https://www.flickr.com/x/t/0091009/photos/gnuckx/11641068154/ licensed by Creative Commons

All of this seems like a maze of insanity. I was put on Warfarin, a blood thinner, because you can get blood clots after a knee replacement. I have to take this medication daily, usually at night and I have to have it monitored by a finger stick. Right now I’m above the range the doctor wants me at so I’m eating broccoli, which you normally cannot eat. It’s suppose to lower the range and I love broccoli so I’m happy I get to eat it.

Physical therapy has been great although they haven’t gotten to the difficult part yet. Instead, I get my leg massaged and I do less aggravating exercises until my incision closes tighter. My therapist is great and I feel very lucky to have her. Though one of these days when I’m having to push 100 pounds with my legs, I may come to dislike her.

Overall, I’m quite happy with the outcome and my decision to have my knee partially replaced. Have you ever had some type of health issue you struggled with for a long time? Have you had anything done to fix it and were happy or unhappy with your decision?

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in Surgery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Knee Replacement and Physical Therapy

  1. my mom had a partial replacement about 2 years after her full replacement, and I am amazed at how fast the get up and go is! And if you stick to PT, how fast the recovery is! It’s amazing how far we’ve come medically!
    Congrats on yours and glad that it’s working out for you!

    • Cynthia says:

      Thanks Kate for your words of encouragement. I’m glad your mom is doing well. It was a much easier surgery than I expected and physical therapy is going well though I’ve yet to do the hard stuff! Could be a YIKES going on soon…:D

  2. Deborah says:

    I had a total knee replacement three years ago, and I can’t believe the difference. I remember realizing that even with the surgery pain, it didn’t hurt to move my knee anymore. It was amazing. Good luck on your continued recovery. 🙂

    • Cynthia says:

      Deborah, It’s exactly like that for me as well! Surgery pain, yes. But just a little now. Pain before, gone! It is amazing. Thanks so much for reading and commenting! 🙂

  3. Hi Cynthia,
    You are keeping a positive perspective and I think that’s one of the most important things. Wonderful of you to connect on my site and I’m happy to find you here too!

    • Cynthia says:

      Thanks again Christy! I’m glad you took the time to read my blog and follow me on Google+ (the adult Facebook..lol). Optimism is the best way to heal. I truly believe that with all 14 surgeries I’ve had so far. Hopefully, this is the last one I’ll have, I’m sure it will be… 😀

  4. I came real close to having double knee replacement surgery in August 2011. It took me half an hour to get out of bed and walking throughout the day was extraordinarily painful. I went into the doctor to use my health insurance since it was expiring at the end of September. He gave me a massive cortisone injection in each knee and I have had very few problems since then. Don’t know how long those injections will last but I’m thankful for every succeeding day.

  5. oh Ya LA to North Carolina would be a culture shock. I just did some travel PT there. Anyway I created a way for me to help multiple knee replacement patients by writing a book chock full of all the strategies and principles learned in 20 years of helping people recovery. Someone who visits here may need it. http://goo.gl/Advk97

Leave a Reply

