What It Feels Like to Get Published

The Lonely Walk by Vinoth Chandar licensed by CC BY 2.0

The Lonely Walk by Vinoth Chandar licensed by CC BY 2.0

When you’re writing a short story, you’re alone with only imagination. Mine runs wild so it took some discipline. I find the writing easier than the editing. Did I mention the editing? Oh, so dreary. It goes on and on and on. When do you stop? I gave my story to several readers I trust and received wonderful feedback.

The Flying Jezebel by Ajith U licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

The Flying Jezebel by Ajith U licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Then the story turns into a real story, it emerges, and you know you have something. I took a chance and submitted it. It got published. My first work. A horror story of all things. I didn’t know I had it in me to write that genre. It was fun…only once I felt it was complete. I think I could have edited the story until it wasn’t my story at all so I had to know when to stop.

Another Catch by Frederic licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Another Catch by Frederic licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

After it was published, I realized there was a cherished publishers credit to be used on a short bio. Hooray! I was ecstatic, pleased, awed, happy, and all the good things one feels when they have done something they’ve always dreamed of doing. Now for more and better writing.

How did you feel when you publish or how do you feel you’re doing on a work you want to publish?

 

 

 

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What It Feels Like to Get Published

  1. Reblogged this on Ace Friends News and commented:
    #AceFriendsNews says fellow writers, band together #cynzen

    • Anonymous says:

      very cool, thanks so much and I have to say that I agree. We need to take the time to actually READ other bloggers pieces or what’s the point. Writers write AND read. Thanks for stopping by Ace.

Leave a Reply

