North Carolina Madness

ncI live about 45 minutes northeast of Charlotte, North Carolina. I don’t care for it. I live in a rural area where you can actually see cows. People ride their tractors on the main streets. All of this annoys me to no end. I’ve lived most of life in Los Angeles and you don’t see this stuff unless you go to a zoo or a tractor museum. Here’s the odd things…

The picture above shows a grave site but all the flowers are either plastic or silk. You’re not allowed to have real flowers. So the flower shops all sell plastic. Also, the headstones have phosphorous in them and they appear to glow in the dark. Really freaky.

No one says, “Hi” here. Rather, they say “Hey” to you as a greeting. When I first moved here a guy said “hey.” I had just parked so I thought maybe I was in a handicapped spot or my tire was flat so I rushed back to my car. I yelled at him. “What do you mean?” He said “hey” again. A friend told me that’s what everyone does here, it’s friendly and it means “hello.” More confusion.

I wonder if I’ll ever see the movie

http://youtu.be/QFxVN9HmKfE

“Rural Juror” with Jenna Maroney. It might make me feel better…

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in My Crazy Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to North Carolina Madness

  1. Wow! L.A. to North Carolina……. Woman, I’m feeling aches and pains for ya! But, “Hey!”…….lol

    • Cynthia says:

      Yes, lucky I still get back out to L.A. then I’m shocked at the traffic! But I miss In & Out Burger and many other things. It’s not easy Russel…

Leave a Reply

