Bad in Seattle

Panorama: Before Sunrise In Seattle. Photo Copyright Peter West Carey Photography @ http://peterwestcarey.com, licensed by (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

Panorama: Before Sunrise In Seattle. Photo Copyright Peter West Carey Photography @ http://peterwestcarey.com, licensed by (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

When I was ten years old and my brother was seven, my grandfather decided to send for us so we could visit with him and my grandmother in Seattle. We had never been on an airplane before and Gramps had a yacht, which was great fun. We looked forward to our summer trips to rainy, beautiful Washington State.

However, we were around old people all day, so my brother and I got bored at times. This was true especially when it was rainy and we couldn’t get out of their penthouse apartment. So we devised some great ideas that we didn’t want the grandparents to know about.

One of them was to go out onto the balcony and wait until someone walked by the apartment building. The building had an intercom system to buzz open the door for visitors. My brother would run inside when someone was close to the door. I placed myself at my grandparents intercom. As soon as a person was near the apartment, we would push the ‘speak’ button and say things like “Help us, we’re trapped here.” Then we would both race outside and look over the balcony to see the stranger staring at the front doors. It was a constant source of amusement until grandma caught us.

When we got bored on the boat my brother came up with the brilliant idea of using the Ship to Shore radio. We were forbidden to go anywhere near this so, of course, we did. I was the lookout for this activity and when all was clear my brother would click the button on the handheld microphone and say “SOS, SOS, we need help.” Grandpa caught us this time and clearly, this was a bad idea.

However, most of the time was wonderful and I still love Seattle to this day even though my grandparents have passed away. My memories of being there with my brother will always be with me and all the crazy things we did to pass the time were fantastic. Even if we were a little bad in Seattle.

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

