Where Do You Go When You Die if You Don’t Believe in God?

Die Ruine - The ruin by Ralf licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Die Ruine – The ruin by Ralf licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

I posed this question, which I found on Yahoo Questions, to some of my friends on Facebook. I got a couple of interesting answers, which made me think about the question   on a deeper level. It’s especially interesting since I was a philosophy major in college. However, I also have a wild sense of complete insanity. The mix is perfect.

Happy Valentines by Chris Chabot licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Happy Valentines by Chris Chabot licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

One of my friends, Marv, believes that “there is no you” so you don’t end up anywhere. There is a ‘spark’ that ends up in another creation or returns to it’s source. (Thanks Marv, hope I didn’t destroy what you actually meant!). This belief is really quite lovely and I’m glad he contributed his thoughts. Perhaps you feel this way as well. Maybe you don’t. Personally, I have no idea where you go…

Used by permission of Oski Grim

Used by permission of Oski Grim

My philosophy pal, Oski Grim (not his real name) and I went to school together. He’s a character, this one. He thinks that no matter what, he will end up on Ocean Beach. I conflated his answer with the movie Dark City, where the protagonist always ends up at Shell Beach. In the movie, there is no Shell Beach but the movie character is certain it exists. Kinda existential no? Ocean Beach is a real place in San Francisco and my friend always ends up there when he is going out for a day of walking around the city. But it’s an entertaining thought to think you might end up in some fake place that never exists in the first place. Though this reasoning is somewhat circular. But if you view Heaven like Shell Beach then you might be disappointed. However, the question is:  Where do you go when you die, if there is NO Heaven. So we’ll drop this one. It’s just an entertaining philosophical thought.

cat

I would like to think I’ll be reincarnated into a beautiful cat. I want to be owned by a gay couple that dote on me, feed me really expensive food, and buy me a pink rhinestone collar. I can sleep all day and do what I want. Sigh, just a fantasy but it would be awesome.

So what’s your thoughts? Where do you think you’ll go? And why?

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

