Valentine’s Day Massacre

"Valentine's Day Debt Prevention Rally Pt 1" by Eric731 is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

“Valentine’s Day Debt Prevention Rally Pt 1” by Eric731 is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

I really dislike Valentine’s Day. It’s a holiday made up by greeting card companies in order to make more money. Just like Grandparents Day and Oh, Happy Winter Solstice Day. All of these are just another day. Unless you’re single. Then today can be problematic for those who have no significant other.

Many years ago I worked at a telemarketing center and it happened to be V-Day. A woman on the phone could not stop crying because she was alone. Valentine’s Day just reminds people who are single that they are truly ALONE, by themselves, without love, and therefore, losers. Great holiday huh? A bunch of us in the office wished the woman a wonderful day and she finally stopped crying. Then, all of us single, went out to a nice dinner together.

Today I won’t get chocolates, jewelry, a romantic dinner or anything else marking the occasion but I do know that being single ROCKS! It’s all in the mindset. Being single doesn’t make me a loser because I know I’m a winner. Today I’ll be busy and call my other single friends and make them laugh. Just like any other day. So I’ll take a hug (just not from a stranger on the roadside) but that’s all I want and if I don’t get that, then it’s all good. Happy Fake Holiday everyone!

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentine’s Day Massacre

  1. J.R.Barker says:

    Hear hear! I am not single, but I still agree wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

