Jim and Tammy Baker

Jim and Tammy Baker

My grandmother held a small tube with a piece of wood in it for me to see. “It’s a piece of the Cross,” she said. I asked her where she got it. “I donated money to Jim and Tammy Baker,” she replied. I told her it was a toothpick. She looked disappointed. “No, it’s really a piece of the Cross, they said so.” I thought she was nuts. She was…

Christmas. She always arranged for the crazy relatives to come over empty handed. We opened presents. Then I was handed a gift from her. “I got that at a garage sale. It probably won’t fit you.” She said this every Christmas. I’m 6 feet tall and I would open the present and it was always a child sized shirt. Sometimes there were stains on it. I would immediately drop it on the floor in disgust. At least it wasn’t a shoebox with a picture glued to the bottom…sigh.

About Cynthia

I'm a little crazy but who isn't? I enjoy writing about my many odd experiences and my perception is really altered by time, age, and drugs. Not really but it sounds cool. I'm from Los Angeles and moved to North Carolina. I don't like culture shock but it happens anyway.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

